

## SOLID WASTE ASSOCIATION OF NORTH AMERICA

ALASKA GHAPTER



President - Lori Aldrich Vice-President - Donna Mears Secretary/Treasurer - Brett Olson

Directors: Ted Jacobson (Advisory Board Delegate)

Cory Hinds

Mark Spafford

Meeting Minutes

- Virtual Meeting via Zoom
- April 22, 2022
- I. Call to Order by Lori Aldrich at 1:04 p.m.
- II. Agenda Approved
- III. Minutes of April Meeting Approved

#### IV. Board and General Membership Discussion

#### A. Committee Reports

#### 1. President's Report – Lori Aldrich

- a. Board held a meeting March 24
  - 1. Discussed how to approach MOLO
    - a. Cover parts of it in meeting tech sessions
    - b. Will possibly offer in-person MOLO in the fall
  - 2. RALO will be held only by specific invitation
    - a. No more grants are available for funding
    - b. Similar information is offered at Solid Waste Boot Camp
- b. Mike Blair has resigned as Board Director
  - 1. Health issues prevent his participation
  - 2. He is thanked for his many years of service to SWANA

#### 2. Treasurer's Report – Brett Olson

- a. Balances 3/31/2022: \$13,095.11 Credit Union, \$44,321.23 Wells Fargo
- b. Due to turbulent market, Wells Fargo account is down \$3,000.00
- c. Discrepancy with SWANA National: reimbursed us for Alabama, not Alaska
- d .Treasurer's Report Approved

#### 3. Program Committee – Donna Mears

- a. Next meeting July 15, possibly in person as well as online
- b. Tech session topic: TBA

#### 4. Membership Committee –Terry Berger N/A

- 5. Scholarship Committee Char Avril
  - a. There have been a few inquiries but no applications as yet
  - b. Deadline for applications is May 2
- 6. Training Committee Lori Aldrich for Ted Jacobson
  - a. RACEJT RALO is in progress
  - b. Eight students are attending and doing well
- 7. Legislative Liaison Lori Aldrich
  - a. ADEC will take over Hazardous Waste Program regulation in state
    - b. Monitoring regs have been finalized
- 8. Safety Minute Lori Aldrich Roads still slick for morning/evening commutes

### B. Advisory Board Delegate – Ted Jacobson N/A

#### V. Old Business

A. There will be an in-person MOLO this fall if COVID conditions allow it

B. A new Board member is needed to fill Mike Blair's seat; if interested, contact Lori Aldrich **VI. New Business/Member Comments** 

- A. Judy Blair is retiring as of July 31; anyone interested in the position should contact Lori Aldrich
- B. Donna Mears has opened a Google account for the Chapter to centrally manage information
- C. Mary Leith's last day as Delta Junction City Administrator is April 29<sup>th</sup>; her replacement is Ken Greenleaf

#### VII. Next Meeting date and agenda



# SOLID WASTE ASSOCIATION OF NORTH AMERICA

ALASKA CHAPTER



President - Lori Aldrich Vice-President - Donna Mears Secretary/Treasurer - Brett Olson

Directors: Ted Jacobson (Advisory Board Delegate) Terry Berger Cory Hinds Mark Spafford

A. Next meeting will be July 15, 2022, online and possibly in person (TBD)

B. Tech session: TBA

VIII. Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at 1:30 p.m.

Tech Session: Donna Mears (Central Environmental, Inc.), Michael Rhodes, (MOA/SWS), Brett Olson (MSB), and Lee Frey (KPB), led the presentation on MOLO Module 7: Landfill Gas Overview, Alaska Specific Regulations, and Alaska Class I Landfill Systems.

#### ATTENDEE LIST FOR April 22, 2022, CHAPTER SPRING MEETING

I, Lori Aldrich, President of the Alaska Chapter of SWANA, hereby certify the attendance of the following 25 members at the chapter meeting held online April 22, 2022:

Name	Organization	Phone
Lori Aldrich	ADEC	269-7622
Evalu Filitaula	MOA/SWS	343-6258
Sheila Hinckley	Shannon & Wilson	458-3151
Cory Hinds	Jacobs Engineering	229-6809
Bob Jordan	FNSB/SW	459-1365
Donna Mears	CEI/CRS	632-6382
Brett Olson	MSB	861-7604
Char Avril	MSB	861-9602
Judy Hepner Bryan Protzman Samantha Buchanon Paul Berry Martin Bethke Lee Frey Lanie Hughes Stephanie Erickson	MOA/SWS HDR Gustavus MOA/SWS KPB retired	343-6261 644-2120 697-2118 343-6260 262-9667
Courtney Holston	HDR	644-2195
Mary Leith	Delta Junction	895-4656
Ted Hawley	HDR	644-2018
Jena Hassinger	Kodiak Island Borough	486-9343
LeeAnne Osgood	Shannon & Wilson	561-2120
Ken Greenleaf	Delta Junction	895-4656
Jeff Smith	MSB	745-9838
Shann Jones	FNSB	459-1482
Michael Rhodes	MOA/SWS	428-0569